Stargate: The Ark of Truth

It’s taken me awhile to get around to writing my thoughts about the first SG-1 movie. I have to say, I’m impressed. I watched it last night for the second time so I could have my thoughts a little more organized. If you haven’t seen the movie… please stop reading now because I will seriously spoil it for you.

What I loved:

1) The score. Joel Goldsmith knocked it out of the park. The DVD purchase price is worth it for the music alone. I especially loved the opening take on the theme. Just beautiful.

2) The opening banter among Daniel, Vala, and Teal’c. Claudia Black was awesome.

3) Tim Guinee as Tomin. Someone please give this actor a good role on his own show. I also loved the subplot of how his life is similar to Teal’c’s. It gave the film a deeper edge than I was expecting. Tomin and Teal’c scene in the cafeteria on the Odyssey was some of the best dialogue of the film.

4) Sam. I’ve always been a fan of Carter’s and seeing her back and kicking butt was great. She also gets the nod for the best line… “That’s funny. I was just thinking we couldn’t get any more screwed.”

5) Currie Graham as Merick. What an awesome villain. Too bad we won’t see him again.

6) Sarah Strange’s voice. I seriously wish I sounded that elegant. Having her in the film was a very nice touch.

7) Sam giving Cam the cookies. What a nice tip of the hat to fans of the show who would remember when it was the other way around. And Sam kissing Cam on the cheek… hmm. They looked a little “shippy” there. And oddly I didn’t mind.

8) The Odyssey going through the gate. We finally get to see the some of the cast literally going through the wormhole. We haven’t seen this effect since the original Stargate movie. Very, very cool.


What I didn’t like:
1) Beau Bridges getting saddled with the worst line of the movie. “I was hoping SG-1 would show up.” I cringed for him and actor Michael Beach in that scene. Painful.

2) Drawn out shots. Some of these work but others felt waaaaay too long. Just because a movie lets you hold a shot longer doesn’t mean you should. I thought we were going to have to watch the entire Super Gate dial up.

3) And this is a tiny one. “Severely Restricted Access.” The signs were all over the Odyssey. I half expected the words “We Mean It” to be underneath. Does the military actually have signs like these or were they just up for fun.

Finally… I don’t know how I feel about certain swear words in Stargate. Don’t get me wrong, I cuss like a sailor on shore leave at times, but it seems so odd to see Cam saying words he never would on the show. Part of me thought it was hysterical – another part of me was thrown out of the moment completely. “Did Cam just say s**t?”

So there is my two cents. Can’t wait for Continuum this July.

 

~ by promogirl on April 7, 2008.

5 Responses to “Stargate: The Ark of Truth”

  1. I am an ENORMOUS Stargate fan, and can’t wait to see this one or Continuem. I am especially excited that it’s bringing my favorite villain Baahl back into the mix. This was a really insightful review that touched on main points but didn’t give the plot and final scenes away, thanks.

  2. Right there with you, Heather. I love SG-1 and Atlantis. Watching the Ark of Truth really brought out my inner SG-1 geek. It was a lot of fun. I actually liked the movie more the second time I watched it!

    And I’m excited about Continuum as well. It sounds like it might be the best “episode” of SG-1 ever. We get Jack and Ba’al. What’s not to like? 🙂

    Thanks for commenting!

  3. Yeah, I’m prepared for the “ball” jokes. Those guys.

    Hey, as another avid fan and of Atlantis as well, how do you feel about the addition of Carter to the Pegasus Galaxy?

    Season 4 had a completely different feel and story structure than the first two seasons but with some of the character changes and losses I felt some were improvements and some not so much.

    Rodney McKay is probably one of the greatest character’s ever on television. I’m just putting that out there.

  4. I’m a Sam fan so I was biased about Carter coming onboard. 😉 In fact, I watched all of the DVDs of Atlantis just so I would be caught up for the fourth season. I watched the show occasionally before then – I was being overly loyal to SG-1. I really got into the series when I started watching it from the beginning.

    I felt the fourth season was the strongest. I really like Dr. Weir but they just never gave her enough to do. I’m disappointed that Torri Higgenson (sp?) declined to put in an appearance for season 5 after the direction her character took in season 4. She finally had something really meaty and fascinating to play with… but I guess there was just too much bad blood there. Shame.

    I’m glad we’ll get both Carson and Keller in season 5. I like them both. And I have a feeling I’ll love them together. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked Keller and McKay together. That pairing surprised me but it worked!

    Rodney is a trip. There are times I want to smack him. Other times I want to give him a hug. I’m just sorry we won’t get to see his friendship with Sam evolve more in season 5. At least we’ll get Amanda Tapping for a few episodes!

  5. […] Stargate: The Ark of Truth […]

Leave a Reply

 
