New info on Whedon’s Dollhouse

In case you hadn’t see the latest from Michael Ausiello over at www.tvguide.com here is what he had to say about Buffy/Angels actors appearing on Dollhouse

080324dollhouse-marsden.jpg

Charisma Carpenter and James Marsters by Kevin Parry/WireImage.com, Amy Acker by Michael Bezjian/WireImage.com

Eliza Dushku may be bunking with some old friends when she moves into Joss Whedon’s Dollhouse next season. According to multiple sources, several Buffyverse grads are being considered for the eight supporting roles now being cast.

Whedon confirmed this unbelievably fraktacular turn of events moments before taking the stage at Paley Fest’s Buffy tribute last Thursday. “I’ve read a couple of people [from the Buffyverse],” he told me, “but I’m not going to say who.”

Although this would seem to contradict comments the Buffy master made to me last fall, in which he said that his “first instinct is to probably [cast] new people because I’m already reuniting with Eliza and I don’t want it to seem like a house party,” Whedon insists his position hasn’t changed.

“It’s not a hard and fast rule,” clarifies the auteur, who just completed penning Dollhouse‘s one-hour premiere. “I just want to make sure I get the right people. And I don’t want to give the impression that it’s just me and my friends having a party. Some [Buffyverse alums] might work out fine. But I’m not going to just seek out people that I already know are great. That would be lazy.”

You know what I say? There’s nothin’ wrong with being lazy if it means Whedon reuniting with the likes of James Marsters, Charisma Carpenter and Julie Landau. Of course, that’s not to say they’re the Buffyverse vets in the running for Dollhouse. That’s not to say they aren’t either. See how I protected myself there?
****

So who do we want Joss to cast from his gone-but-not-forgetten shows?  Most of the Firefly cast is already occupied with other series.  Summer Glau is busy terminating.  Jewel Staite is off doctoring on Stargate: Atlantis.  Adam Baldwin is on Chuck.  I wouldn’t mind seeing Nathan Fillion jumping from Desperate Housewives to Dollhouse.  Then again I like him in whatever he’s in.  As for the actors from Buffy… I’m not so sure I like that idea.  I think it would be too distracting.

Regardless of who Whedon casts, I can’t wait to see this show.  Of course, I felt that way about Bionic Woman and look how that turned out…

  

 

~ by promogirl on March 25, 2008.

9 Responses to “New info on Whedon’s Dollhouse”

  1. My thinking on actors from previous Whedon adventures…I think, for now, the names being floated around wouldn’t distract me too much. It’ll be tough seeing some of them in new roles period. I mean to me Marsters is Spike. But I think that would be an issue no matter what show he was on. Same for Nathan Fillion. For me he was Mal even when he was starring in Drive.

    Eliza, however, her I can see in the title role. I don’t know why. Maybe because her character was on the periphery of the Buffyverse. But yet she was one of my favorites. I’m really looking forward to watching what her and Joss come up with.

    By the way, funny thing about Joss and Summer Glau, I found this article the other day. It’s kind of old, but a really interesting interview with Josh Friedman. It just made me love Terminator that much more. The part about how he used to carry Summer’s audition tape around with him and “curse” Joss Whedon is so funny. He says he basically wrote the part of Cameron for her, which is so cool.

    Friedman: I love Summer. I tried casting Summer [before]; this was probably four years ago. The last pilot that I did, which never went anywhere, I had hired the same casting agents as Joss [Whedon] had. So they brought Summer in one day, and I fell in love with her. And I tried casting her, but I was in second position to Serenity, the movie. This was right before – Serenity was just starting up. I don’t know if they were sure exactly it was gonna go. And I loved her and I used to carry her audition tape around with me and say “I want Summer Glau,” and they would always say “You can’t have her. She’s gonna do Serenity.” And I was like “Damn you, Joss Whedon!” And then obviously I saw her in Serenity and thought she was perfect in it and always kept her in mind. And like Lena, there was really no second choice. That part is basically written for her.

  2. That is cool! Thank you for sharing that. I wondered about the casting. I just couldn’t imagine them going further once they had Glau and Headey. I like Thomas Dekker, but it’s the two female leads that just blow me away every week.

    For me, the one actress I don’t want to see cast in Dollhouse is Charisma Carpenter. I loved her as Cordy, but everything I’ve seen her in since seems like another version of that character. I’m kind of over it. Amber Benson or Emma Caulfield (sp?) would be fun. And I love me some Xander so Nicolas Brendan is obviously welcome. Same for Gina Torres and Alan Tudyk.

    In an earlier post you mentioned TV Guide’s suggestion of Ben Browder. I watched some Farscape but I became a fan of Ben’s through Stargate: SG-1. I think he’d be awesome, but I understand he’s working on a project for SciFi called “Going Homer.” Apparently he’s also expressed interest in doing some of the new webisodes of Farscape that the network wants to air online. He’s probably too busy. 😦 With the sales of Stargate: The Ark of Truth surpassing expectations, I imagine there is more SG-1 in his future as well. Not that I mind that…

  3. I am starting to SERIOUSLY miss my Monday Terminator fix. haha…watching the reruns isn’t working anymore! I’m hoping FOX at least gives us confirmation of a new season soon. That will help…for a little while. 😉

    hmm…Charisma Carpenter… Yeah I have to agree. I honestly thought she would have been great back when everybody was talking about her for Joss casting her as Wonder Woman. But I don’t see her in Dollhouse. It would have to be a real surprise, sort of like how Brian Austin Green really surprised me for SCC. Him showing up the way he did, and then getting shot, and then having such a tie-in right into the heart of the franchise mythology, it did a lot to help him own the role right off the bat.

    I like your other ideas, I’m sure Joss could find a part for any of them. The question I have though is how many can he get away with! 😉

    And I didn’t know about the Farscape webisodes. That sounds cool! I’ll have to check that out. Browder was really good in Farscape. I’ve never seen him in SG-1, I never got into that show. Must be pretty good though, they keep giving it season after season! And spin-offs!

  4. If you’re a big Farscape fan then you might check out the last two seasons of SG-1 since they have both Claudia Black AND Ben Browder. I thought they were nice additions after Richard Dean Anderson left the series. I got into SG-1 kind of late so I rented the DVDs and caught up. It’s not Shakespeare but it sure is a fun romp every week. SG-1 was unfortunately cancelled, hence the new DVD movies, but Stargate: Atlantis had a pretty strong fourth season creatively and ratings-wise.

    I’ll see if I can’t find more info on the webisodes stuff for you. I think they’re supposed to focus on Chriton’s (sp?) son.

    I’m missing T:SCC as well. I’d play with more icons and wallpapers but right now I’m working on a challenge to create 100 icons for Bones… and 50 of those are required themes. I don’t know what possessed me to try it. I guess I’m just trying to push myself to get better at it!

  5. Whoa…100 icons?! Okay, you’re going to be the Photoshop MASTER by the time you finish those! That’s awesome. 🙂 By the way, I’m curious to hear how long it takes you and if you learn any cool new design techniques.

    I have some catching up to do on Farscape, but I loved it when it first came out. That’s cool how Claudia got in on SG-1 too!

    I actually have a LOT of series I need to get on DVD eventually. Well, probably blu-ray now, if they ever release them. That’s what’s stopping me from watching Lost actually. I finally got my PS3, so now I’m ready to buy blu-ray discs, but yet they only have Lost Season 3 out. Season’s 1 and 2 are on DVD only. haha…but of course they have Prison Break on blu-ray! I have no idea why that show gets so much love from FOX. It just boggles the mind.

    Ooo! Hey so did you hear about the mention T:SCC got on that CBS comedy Big Bang Theory? The story was on Mother of all Destiny. Apparently two of the characters were discussing the Terminator mythology as the show started – kind of fan geek talk about timetravel timelines changing because of who died, etc – and they brought up Cameron! I don’t actually watch that show, but apparently there’s video of it on CBS’s site.

  6. Yeah, 100 icons. I must be nuts. 🙂

    Claudia was a riot on SG-1. Her character was a complete flirt. She was also a thief! I was wary of them bringing her in at first because I’m a huge fan of Sam’s (the character Colonel Samantha Carter) and thought she’d be pushed off to the side. The producers surpised me. In the end, Sam and Vala were friends rather than the typical – “oh they’re women, they have to be rivals,” crap.

    I watched that scene from Big Bang at work. It was pretty funny. God love ’em for giving another network’s show a shout out!

  7. I know I couldn’t believe they gave a plug for FOX! They must know (or hope) they get fan crossover. haha…I actually may watch now because of that just to check it out, so it worked!

    I haven’t seen Claudia in much of anything besides Farscape. She had a very small part in the movie Pitch Black, but it didn’t really give her a chance to shine. That’s cool that she had a great role on SG-1. I may have to put that series on my TV-on-DVD list!

  8. By the way, hope the icons are going well!

    I am actually going to make an attempt at more Photoshop this weekend. I have some time and I’ve got another wallpaper idea for Cameron and Sarah. Hopefully I’ll be able to find the exact screencaps I want!

  9. The icons are going slowly. I’ve got about 37 done so far. I hope to put a bigger dent in the goal by the end of this weekend. I’ll post them all here when I’m done.

    Hope you find the screencaps you’re looking for. I’d love to see whatever you come up with!

Leave a Reply

 
