Shiny.

firefly-tv-ff02.jpg

I finally did it.

At long last I watched an episode of Joss Whedon’s much-missed series Firefly.  Truthfully, I’d seen part of an episode during the show’s initial run.  I was a big fan of Buffy so I gave Firefly a shot.  I wasn’t impressed.  Old west meets sci-fi just didn’t play for me.  Years have come and gone since then and many a Browncoat has tried to convert me to their cause.  In the end, it was being a fan of four other shows that got me to give Firefly another shot.

I love Stargate: SG-1.  Morena Baccarin came on board the series as the villain Adria in season 10 of the show and will be reprising her role in the upcoming straight to DVD release of Stargate: SG-1 The Ark of Truth.  Then there is Stargate: Atlantis with plucky new doctor Jennifer Keller played by Jewel Staite.  Of course we can’t leave out Chuck with his handler Casey (the always awesome Adam Baldwin).  Finally, throw in Summer Glau’s performance as terminator Cameron on Sarah Connor Chronicles.  Four actors on four different shows I love all of which could be found in one place?  Yeah, I had to rent the DVD.

So what did I think?  Shiny is getting added to my everyday vocabulary.  I watched the pilot and found myself warming up to the show immediately.  Kaylee is by far and away my favorite but Jayne is a close second.  Nathan Fillion is just pretty to look at no matter what he’s doing, but he makes a very fitting captain.  He’s like the TV version of Han Solo – and that’s a good thing.  

I watched all three episodes on the first disc.  I’m eager to learn more about the Reavers (sp?),  in particular.  They seem like a fascinating enemy.  The stories were well plotted and the cast has very nice chemistry.  I’m looking forward to seeing the remaining episodes.  I’m also curious to see what will happen with Summer Glau’s character.  Right now she’s about as far in character from Cameron as you can get.  But if I remember the promos and trailers for Serenity correctly I don’t believe she’ll stay that way for long.

So don’t count me among the converted just yet.  I’ll reserve judgement until after disc 2.

     

~ by promogirl on February 17, 2008.

5 Responses to “Shiny.”

  1. If after the first episode on disc 3 you aren’t in love, I’ll be surprised. Out of Gas is an amazing blend of story and symbolism and action and character development and how to weave a story line. (How is that for breathless fan girl?;>) I am not a follower of any other show. But Firefly enthuses me over a year after I was first introduced to it.

    I have it tagged– I am such a sick yearner after every scrap I can find.

  2. It probably won’t take me to disc 3. I’m really taken with several of the characters. An episode or two should do it. 🙂

  3. I agree with you about Kaylee and Jayne but eventually I found myself passionate about everybody (okay, less so about Inara but I’m in a minority there.)

  4. Not a fan of Inara, huh? I’m curious to see how her relationships pan out with Kaylee and Mal. I find it interesting that she and Kaylee (who seems like her exact opposite) are friends. And I’m wondering a bit about the history that seems to be present between Mal and Inara. As a character, she hasn’t really popped for me, yet, as some of the others have. Loved her as Adria on SG-1, though… 🙂

  5. great article, thank you

Leave a Reply

 
