Outcast (or the Terminator episode of SGA)

Yeah.  The folks at Stargate: Atlantis ripped off the Terminator movies in a big way for tonight’s episode.  You know what?  I don’t care.  It was an entertaining hour of television with some surprising twists.  I did not see Ava being a Replicator coming.  My only serious complaint?  Why waste one of Amanda Tapping’s episodes on a single tiny scene?

It was nice to get some of Sheppard’s backstory at last.  Who knew he was rich?  And that he had a hot brother (Blood Ties Dylan Neal)?  And where was mom?  Did we know she wasn’t in the picture?  I can’t remember.  Ten seasons of SG-1 and four of Atlantis things kind of start to run together.  I have to admit, though, that if I were Nancy I would have divorced John as well.  That was one of my minor quibbles about the b-plot.  Sheppard didn’t seem to care that he’d screwed up his marriage.  In fact, he seemed to have little concern for his ex at all.  Maybe there was a scene missing that would have sold the relationship better, but it just didn’t work for me.

The scene between McKay and Sheppard at the beginning of the show was nice.  I would have liked to have seen a few more scenes like that after the supposed passing of the Weir character, however.  Ronon rocked as usual.  And the man certainly looks fine in a suit.  Mercy.

Sorry.  Got off track there.

The actor playing the rebel replicator was apparently a professional stunt double.  I believe it.  He had a physicality that you don’t normally see.  If the Sarah Connor Chronicles casting director is on the hunt for a new terminator then they should check out this guy.

Finally, I have to comment on the preview for next week’s episode Trio.  I’ve been waiting for this episode all season.  Jewel Staite got the best line of the promo when McKay says he feels like an action hero.  Her reply?  “Come on, Schwarzenegger, start swinging.”  She puts a lot of gusto into her delivery.  I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard at a preview.  I so can’t wait for next Friday. 

~ by promogirl on February 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
